City Council & Boards

Created on Wednesday, 09 March 2011 11:27 Last Updated on Friday, 04 October 2013 16:41
Written by Administrator
Hits: 79211

Your government is here for you.

The city has an elected mayor with an elected seven-member council and an appointed administrative officer, the city supervisor. One of the seven councilmembers is elected at-large, with two elected from each of the city's three wards.  The mayor is the chief executive and administrative officer of the city, with the power to appoint the city supervisor who serves under the mayor's direction.  The council is vested with the authority to set policy for the city.

Washington State Law requires each city to have certain boards, such as the Planning Commission, but leaves the composition of the board up to the individual cities.  Other boards, commissions and committees not required by state law, are developed through council resolution.  With subsequent approval by the Council, the mayor appoints members to most boards and commissions